Legal Law

Harassment charges: 2C: 33-Four – The way to hearth them

Reject harassment fees

Harassment fees are extremely common in New Jersey.
It seems that these fees are added in any case. If you have any type of assault, physical assault, terrorist threat, stalking, or criminal mischief, chances are good that you will also have a harassment charge.

Where do the harassment fees come from?

Allegations of harassment always arise from a “relationship that has gone bad”.
It is common for people in toxic relationships to bring their personal Vendettes to justice.
While many crimes such as assault, robbery, burglary and shoplifting are committed among strangers, allegations of harassment are due to toxic relationships.
Either it's your neighbor from hell or the guy you broke up with just doesn't understand. As defense lawyers, we've handled tons of harassment cases. Our mission is always the same: let's dismiss this nonsense.

Step 1 – start with the complaint

The first thing we look at is the lawsuit. Here's a sample complaint about harassment from New Jersey.

(Important sections are highlighted.) New Jersey criminal charges offer a lot of information.
For example, you identify the date that you allegedly committed harassment, the jurisdiction (location), the names of the witnesses, and of course the name of the alleged victim.
(We edited names in our sample)
Most lawsuits also include information about the acts you have been charged with for.

Please note that a harassment fee in New Jersey is a criminal offense for those with minor disruptions.
The maximum fines include up to 30 days in prison and a fine of up to $ 500.

Step 2 – Identify which section applies to you

In New Jersey there are three subsections to the 2C: 33-4 harassment fee. 1. Annoying communication 2. Offensive touching 3. Intent to raise alarm For a full definition, see Defined Harassment Fees: Fighting Nonsense. In our next sample complaint, we highlighted the section of the law in green.
In this case, our customer was charged with 2C: 33-4 subsection C. “Reason for alerting” the victim.

Step 3 – Make your role clear
Did you want to "bother"?

After you identify the section of the law that applies to you, ask yourself what you did that led to this harassment allegation. Some examples are:
1. Send text messages at bad times, i.e. H.
2. Point your finger threateningly at another person's face
3. Make anonymous and threatening callsv
4. Always ring the bell and run away
When you have sat down with your defense lawyer, tell him the truth.
Everything you discuss with your lawyer is privileged and confidential.
You should feel safe knowing that your side of the story is not shared with anyone.
For example, if you were charged with harassment for violating an injunction, you should know this.
Now let's look at four strategies to dismiss your allegations of harassment.

4 ways to refuse harassment fees

1 – Insufficient evidence
Remember, your arrest is the starting point of your criminal proceedings.
Harassment cases can take weeks and sometimes months.
A lot happens while your case is pending. The prosecutor can dismiss your criminal complaint after your lawyer has provided new evidence.
That's true!
As your lawyers, we conduct your own investigation of your case.
For example, if we receive evidence that shows that you were unable to text the victim at 3 a.m., we hand it over to the prosecutor.
We find the evidence that proves your innocence and show it to the prosecutor.
As a result, they decide that the evidence against you is weak.
It is important to highlight the role of your defense lawyer here.

2 – Request a prosecutor
A conference with the prosecutor's office is slightly different from providing exonerating evidence.
Unlike Hollywood films, lawyers and prosecutors have good, healthy, and professional relationships.
We both chose criminal law and we care about justice.
During these pre-conferences we can discuss your case openly.
Think of it like a movie trailer.
It is the preview of what will come. We know it will be an action film, but we want to see some clips before we watch it.
A member of our defense team will agree with the prosecutor for some time to review evidence, share perspectives, and discuss the relevant law.
Very often we can convince the prosecutor that he has no case.
As a result, it is fired!

3 – Deny harassment through mediation
It may not be the most attractive choice, but mediation is a great way for people to deflate and move on.
Mediation is a judicial program in which both parties are brought to the table.
Let's say your neighbor has brought harassment lawsuits over an ongoing fence conflict.
One leads to the other and the next that you know is marching to the police station and submitting a harassment complaint.
Of course, you have done nothing criminal so that your matter does not go to a criminal court.
Your defense lawyer and prosecutor will join forces and ask the court to send the matter to mediation.
During mediation, another lawyer (mediator) will lead the conversation to a peaceful solution.
At the end of the whole process, your harassment fees will be rejected.
It may be worth trying.

4 – Pay a fine
If the evidence against you is weak, but the prosecutor doesn't dismiss your case, your lawyer can fight for a reduced charge.
It may not be the result you want, but it is a win-win situation for everyone involved.
Your case is solved and your nightmare is over.
A harassment fee can be downgraded to a local prescription fee.
In this case, the prison is off the table.
You pay a fine and are relieved that the case is over.
Of course, our priority is to reject your lawsuits, but a reduced charge can also be a home run!

Final thoughts

If you are charged with harassment, stay calm. This is a very common charge.
Not sure how many fees you have? Click here, New Jerseys Municipal Court Case Search As mentioned earlier, there are many ways to attack the case so that it is never brought to trial.
However, it is important to find a lawyer that suits you.
Since this is such an important decision, take your time to do basic research.
If you've found some lawyers you'd like to meet, check to see if they have customer reviews.
Before a customer hires us, we always recommend that they visit our customer reviews in our company.

Do you need help with your case?

Contact us for a free consultation.

The Post Harassment Fees: 2C: 33-4 – How to dismiss them first appeared in the Peyrouton Law.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *